In response to our latest “Las lápidas hablan” post prepared by Laura Repullo Chacón and Angel Briongos…

In response to our latest “Las lápidas hablan” post prepared by Laura Repullo Chacón and Angel Briongos, we received this amazing photograph, explanation and query from Edurne Cendagorta Hoppenstedt, a niece of Santiago Lazcano, the Basque immigrant profiled by Laura and Angel:

“My uncle Santiago Lazcano was also interested in the social activities of the Centro [Vasco]. He and some others planned dinners, dances and excursions to Villa Garcia. In this photo (around 1948) I could name some of the people like the Bilbao twin brothers, Ralph & Gene with my mom, Juanita, Anna and Peter Madariaga, Mary, Peter and Peter jr. Toja. My parents(Luis, Luisa), brother with the white hat (Jose mari) and me Edurne. “