From Steven Alonzo , via our friends at Hawaiian Spaniards:

en español, abajo.

“We moved to my grandfather’s farm in 1960. Fruit was still being dried on those same trays and being scraped with those same scrapers. The cutting shed had 6 or 8 tables with 4 cutters to a table. My grandmother would cut 3 stations and I could not even finish my one quarter of the tray. She would lean over or come and cut out of my box to finish the tray.

Most of my first generation Spanish family lived in Solano and Yolo counties following the fruit. This photo shows Alejandro Gonzales and Edna Flint with a drying box for apricots. Their children worked also…such a hard life! — with Tony Borges and 2 others.”

“Nos trasladamos a la granja de mi abuelo en 1960. La fruta todavía se secaba en esas bandejas y se removía con esos mismos raspadores. El cobertizo de corte tenía 6 u 8 mesas con 4 cuchillas por cada mesa. Mientras mi abuela recortaba 3 estaciones, yo ni siquiera podía terminar un cuarto de mi bandeja. Ella solía inclinarse o directamente venía a cortar de mi caja para terminar la bandeja.

La mayor parte de la primera generación de mi familia española vivió en los condados de Solano y Yolo, como temporeros de fruta. Esta foto muestra a Alejandro Gonzales y Edna Flint con una caja de secado de albaricoques. Sus hijos también trabajaban… Fue una vida dura! – Con Tony Borges y 2 más”.