Images from the field: Margaret Dambley (née Castro), San Leandro, California, 11 October 2014

“Well my father, when he was in Hawaii, he was about 9 years old when he went to work in the sugarcane fields. And this is his tag. The “S” is for Spanish, the “3” was his number. On the other side it says “Ewa Mill Plantation Company.” He was a water boy. And that’s what he did, all day long, making sure that the workers had water. He carried it in buckets, I guess… There were no timeclocks at that time, so when he went to work in the morning, he would hang the brass tag on a board, and when he got off from work he would take the tag off the board, and they would know how many hours he had put in. Ever since I was a little girl, I would see this on his keychain. I never asked about it until I was older. When he passed away I asked my mother if I could have it and it’s been on my keychain since 1968. For me, this is my dad’s history… This is my dad.”